TINA: Restoration of deleted files

This procedure concerns the restauration of one or more files from the TINA backup. It must be executed from the machine where the files had been deleted (local plateform).

By clicking on the cross (+) to the left of your login in the tree hierarchy, you will see which of your files are present at that moment on the disk cache.

The Time Navigation area can display all the versions which were backed up in a time period. No matter what the date in the past, you can view all the directories and files in the tree file which were created or deleted during a specified time interval. It is then possible to navigate in the tree file, open directories and obtain information about files which were deleted.

  1. Look through the file tree and open the directories in which the deleted files were located (NM in our example) by clicking on the crosses (+) associated with them. When the directory/file is open, the cross becomes simply a line (-).

  2. Next, in the Time Navigation area on the left of the window, tick the box Show deleted files.
  3. Specify the time interval for the deleted files and directories you wish to see. You must click on the button to choose one of the following time units: minutes, hours, days, weeks or months.
    The default time interval is one day. (The adjacent up/down arrows increase or decrease the amount of time in the selected time unit.

  4. A new file tree appears which displays all the files and directories which were present on the disk during the selected time period. The files which were deleted during this period are also shown, but with hatched icons.

    In this example, the deleted files (JOB_test.ll, OpenMP.303696, OpenMP.303710, fort.10, job_omp_adapp.ll and prog.f90) have now been added to the file tree (with hatched icons).
  5. Tick the small boxes associated with the deleted files which you wish to have restored.

    Tip :
    If you have selected a large number of deleted files to be restored, you can use the menu Restore - View Checked Objects Only to only display these selected files.

  6. Choose Restore - Run. The Parameters window then appears.
  7. Select the options which define your operation.

Original Directory is chosen by default. If you do not wish to return the deleted files to their original directories, you must specify a destination directory: Select Other Directory and you can either choose another existing directory by clicking on the small button to the right or type in the complete path of the destination directory.
After you have chosen the options, click on OK to validate the operation. The window Restore Information appears and will show the progress of the restoration.

It can take from a few minutes to several hours before the restoration actually begins (loading of cassettes into the robot). If this takes too long, consult disponibilité des machines (machine availability) on our WEB site.

  1. The message Restore complete will appear when the operation has finished. Confirm this by clicking on OK.

    Then close the window Restore Information by clicking on Close. The restoration is now completed.

Return to the general TINA page